If Only

Image

 

 

If only I knew how to say things right,
I wouldn’t be struggling with my words all night.
I would say everything, I would talk instead,
I would gather my thoughts, scattered in my head.
I would string my hopes, my love I would heap,
I would bundle my dreams for you, all my wishes you can keep.
I would whisper these words into your ears tonight,
If only I knew how to say things right.

In the darkest hours when you begin to sway,
You’ll find me by your side, an embrace away.
When you hurt with pain and with fear you tremble,
I’ll be your voice, your words when you fumble.
When you feel cold, I’ll be the sun you can soak,
When you feel empty, I would fill you with hope.
When you feel tired, I’ll be the pillar, to which you can lean,
When you feel dull, I’ll colour  your dreams.
I would whisper these words into your ears tonight.
If only I knew how to say things right.

Your pain I would heal,
Your dreams I would fix.
Bring you back your zeal,
Your wounds I would stitch.
Your tears we would cry, and together we would smile.
These light years between us, we would turn into miles.
This life just one, no seconds to waste.
Like shadows one day, into the darkness we’ll fade.
I’ll whisper these words into your ears tonight,
Because if I get them wrong, I know you’ll make them right.

Shobhita Singh Parmar

One thought on “If Only

  1. Shobhita,

    This is a beautiful poem. So simple yet so deep. It says everything.

    Yes, I believe those are the apt words to describe how I feel about this Poem.

    It says everything.

    Keep the ink flowing.

    ~ Siddharth

Leave a comment